Immigration and security
USA: new entry restrictions for nationals from eight countries

On 24 September, the US administration imposed a new entry ban on nationals from Iran, Yemen, Libya, Somalia, and Syria. Nationals of these countries should expect to be turned back at the US border or already stopped from boarding flights to the USA.


For nationals from Chad and North Korea, as well as employees of official government organizations, the police, or the intelligence service in Venezuela, similar restrictions are scheduled to come into effect from 18 October 2017 on.


As the situation can change at any time, affected travelers are advised to inform themselves about the current situation and consult the department in charge as well as the American immigration authorities.


For more information, visit the website of the US Department of Homeland Security.